College Releases Fall 2016 Newsletter

Gordon to Present Second “Last Lecture”

Windy Gordon
Source: The Reporter

Windy Gordon, assistant professor of psychology, will speak on the topic “Keep Listening Because Life Is Happening” as he presents the university’s annual “Last Lecture” on Wednesday, Nov. 2. The Last Lecture Award is the only teaching award at WCU in which the recipient is selected solely by students. See The Reporter for more information.

CEAP Student Ambassador Program Launched

CF Logo LARGEThe College of Education and Allied Professions is launching the CEAP Student Ambassador Program. This program will create an opportunity for the college to honor, recognize and utilize some of our best students. For information on how to apply to the program or nominate a student, visit the program’s website. For more information, contact Preston Springer:

Faculty Receive Tenure/Promotion

2016FacultyTPThe college congratulates our faculty that have received tenure and/or promotion since last academic year. For Human Services: Andrew Bobilya and Lori Caudle. For Psychology: Erin Myers. For the School of Teaching and Learning: Nancy Luke and Carrie Rogers. Also, congratulations to Lisa Bloom for appointment as the J.M. Robinson Distinguished Professor.

CEAP Faculty Funded by Provost’s Internal Grant Program

CEAP Conceptual FrameworkTwo groups of faculty across all three departments had grant proposals funded by the Provost’s Internal Grant program. These include Alvin Malesky and Cathy Grist for “A Cross-Disciplinary Assessment of the Effectiveness of Anti-Cheating Protocols Used by UNC System Institutions” and Kelly Kelly and David Westling for “Identification of Factors Associated with Successful Supported or Independent Community Living by Adults with Intellectual Disabilities.”

CEAP Scholarship Golf Tournament Set for June 11

Golf ClassicThe annual CEAP Golf Classic will be held on Saturday, June 11 at Crooked Creek Golf Course in Hendersonville, NC. Registration begins at noon and play will be followed by an awards ceremony with door prizes. The tournament benefits the scholarship funds in the college. See the tournament brochure for more information.