Award named in honor of the late Janice Holt

The Research on Teacher Induction Special Interest Group of the American Educational Research Association passed a resolution in April to name its outstanding dissertation award “The Janice Hooper Holt Outstanding Dissertation Award.” Holt was the first recipient of the award in 2012. For more information, see the article in The Reporter.

Clinical Psychology Student Wins Award, Presents to NC Legislators

Lauren Miller, a student in the MA program in Clinical Psychology, was one of two student winners from the 2013 Graduate Research Symposium. She went on to present her work to Senators Jim Davis and Andrew Brock and Representative Jo Sam Queen of the NC legislature on May 23rd. Her poster is currently on display in the Graduate School display case in the Ramsey Center.

Whee Teach wins state-wide award

The Whee Teach Living-Learning Community has been named the Community of the Month for the entire state of North Carolina by the NC Association of Residence Halls. This is the first time a living-learning community has received this recognition. The Whee Teach Living Learning Community is designed to provide a holistic college experience by combining classroom learning, co-curricular activities, and a residential learning community. There are approximately 75 current members and the 2013-14 goal is to add 75 new freshman.

Multiple Faculty Honored By University

Several faculty were nominated or awarded university level honors at the recent WCU awards ceremony:

  • Russell Curtis – nominee for Board of Governor’s Award for Excellence in Teaching
  • Heidi Turlington – nominee for Chancellor’s Distinguished Teaching Award
  • Bob Beaudet, Carrie Rogers & Nancy Luke – nominees for the SoTL Scholar Award
  • Alvin Malesky – winner of the Jay M. Robinson Award for eTeaching

Congratulations to our faculty!

CEAP Spring 2013 Newsletter Released

Faculty, Staff, Students, and Alumni Honored at CEAP Honors and Awards Ceremony

The college’s Honors and Awards ceremony was held April 10th in the UC Grandroom. Two alumni were honored as Peak Performers: Myra Watson, Instructor in our Birth to Kindergarten program, and Amanda Northrup, elementary teacher in Haywood County. A large number of students were honored for earning awards and scholarships, and Faculty and staff received awards for teaching, research, and service.