Clapp Named Kenan Fellow


Amanda Clapp, science teacher at the Catamount School, was selected for a year-long Kenan Fellowship. The Kenan Fellows Program for Teacher Leadership addresses the need for professional development for educators, and is the largest STEM-focused teacher leadership program in NC. Key components are a three-week summer internship with a mentor in a STEM setting, and 80 hours of professional development that promotes curricular design bridging STEM at work with school.

STL Faculty Publish Article

School of Teaching and Learning faculty members, Drs. Tammy Barron, Holly Henderson Pinter, and Kim K. Winter, have published the article, “Supporting Student and Preservice Teacher Successes Through Co-teaching,” in the Theory and Practice in Rural Education. http://tpre.ecu.edu/index.php/tpre/issue/view/2/3

Turlington Named Teacher of the Year


Heidi Turlington, faculty member in the School of Teaching and Learning, was selected as the NC College/University Dance Education Teacher of the Year by NCAAHPERD-SM. She will be recognized at the annual state convention in Winston-Salem in October.

Gulley Interviewed for Podcast

Dr. Yancey Gulley, Associate Professor in Higher Education, was interviewed for the “For Your Institution” podcast by Mongoose. He spoke about the pitfalls of the “non-traditional” label and about social justice in higher education. Listen to the interview here: https://podcasts.apple.com/us/podcast/being-inclusive-without-labeling-students/id1437663884?i=1000452346869

Blair Publishes Book

Dr. Ellie Blair, faculty member of the School of Teaching and Learning, has co-authored a book with colleagues. A Cross-Cultural Consideration of Teacher Leaders’ Narratives of Power, Agency and School Culture:¬† England, Jamaica and the United States, by Eleanor Blair, Carmel Roofe and Susan Timmins, examines teacher leadership and is a product of collaboration between researchers in England, Jamaica, and the United States.

CEAP Grad Receives Honor

Charae Melton, who graduated in 2017 with a B.S.Ed. in Inclusive Education, was selected as the 2019-2020 Jackson County, NC Beginning Teacher of the Year.